Political Science Department is one of the oldest departments of Government College, Rayachoty established in the year 1978.

In the Year 1978 the Government College, Rayachoty started B.A. with Group combination of History, Political Science and Economics.

In the Year 2000, the B.A. in Urdu Medium offered by the College with the Group combination of History, Political Science and Urdu Literature.

Sanctioned Posts:

There are two (2) posts of Lecturer in Political Science has been sanctioned on permanent basis from the Government of Andhra Pradesh.

       1. Political Science – Telugu Medium

       2. Political Science – Urdu Medium

Courses Offered:

     1. B.A. HEP – History, Economics and Political Science

     2.B.A. HPU – History, Political Science and Urdu Literature

Employment Opportunities:

1. PG Course – Lecturers

2. B. Ed Course – Teachers

3. DIET – School Teachers

4. Group Exams – APPSC, Group-I, II, III, IV.

Staff Working at Present:

Mr. A. Khaja Vice Khirni, M.A., is working in the Department since 9th August, 2018. He has 7 years experience of teaching Political Science.

Activities taken  by the Department:

While admitting the students to 3 year degree classes special coaching have been taken up to make the students to get seats in the university in the department of Political Science and Public Administration because of this effort many students got seats in Post Graduate level.

At times in course of teaching informal Quiz Programmes and Debates were conducted to inculcate the habit of reading books and journals and latest political events.

The Department of Political Science conducts Mock Assembly and Mock Parliament to create awareness in the Students.